.

Vote No on the Bonddoggle


Some of the 220 Million reasons to vote NO.
It is a plan bloated with wasteful spending to buy parental votes in a high cost special election paid for low voter turnout.
Addicted to Federal Funds with Federal Regulations that prohibit "unequal treatment" elsewhere known as holding students and their parents responsible for the students misbehavior, FPS is deaf, dumb, and blind on classroom discipline at the expense of the students who are behaved and come to class ready to learn.  Discipline is the First Required Step in classroom effectiveness and student achievement.  FPS has abandoned discipline in the chase of social engineering string laden Federal Dollars.  Insist this wasteful disgrace is fixed before  flushing more money at promises rendered empty by the dysfunctional Federal Regulations assigned to Federal "Education" Dollars.
The Facilities Committee started with the goal of redecrating the (3) high schools equally.  This is a non-reform based extravagant waste.  Decades of successful reform in place in Western Michigan should have informed the Committee to restructure the High Schools differently to support differentiated instruction taking advantage of the benefit of multiple high schools to meet the needs of all Farmington students and achieve higher levels of learning for all students.
FPS has  

achieved and has consistently sustained real data driven and data verified educational reform within the District with a magnet school that, at best, had comparable facilities for over (2) decades. Yet for over (2) decades, though replication and implementation of those reforms apply to all levels K-12, staff implementation has been and remains optional. These are the very reforms that throughout our Nation have exposed the lie of the “Socio-Economic Achievement Gap” that both the District and County ISD uses to this very day to excuse its substandard performance and attack national educational reforms that include accountability for the lack of improvement. Demand the District change “Optional” to “Mandatory with Accountability” before throwing more money on improvements whose usage is optional and absent any accountability.

The closing of (5) elementary schools and the restructuring of (4) middle schools is still a recent event. It provided both the opportunity and the educational space to implement decades proven instructional reform. Real reform easily supported by annual funds supplemented, if and where necessary, with the bloated multi-year over-taxation equity fund. First things first! 100% of the 4th Grade Graduates certified as proficient at the 4th Grade Level and prepared to succeed in 5th Grade. 100% of 6th Grade Graduates certified as proficient at the 6th Grade Level and prepared to succeed in the 7th Grade. 100% of 8th Grade Graduates certified at the 8th Grade Level and prepared for High School without remediation. 100% of our High School Graduates certified as proficient in all of the graduation requirements and ready for Work, Community College, or a University without remediation for basic skills.  A Bond issue is not required to achieve these results. Time to implement these reforms, an instructional commitment that is not optional and is backed with accountability, and learning validated by performance, not granted by seat time is required. This should be a first pre-requisite to a Bond Issue.

Make it so! 




  
Scott August 01, 2013 at 11:25 PM
ditto
Scott August 01, 2013 at 11:53 PM
Not to mention that there seems to be a lot of pork in the barrel! As mentioned by Mr. York, the numerous upgrades to so many schools in recent years (including the many that were closed), most notably the athletic fields, it seems inconceivable that the athletic fields are once again included - especially since many of us "pay to participate" in sports (notice it is referred to as "pay to participate" NOT "pay to play" because many of our kids pay and simply sit on the bench after paying the same $) Then we have the many schools that were demolished to save money! Several are vacant, abandoned, pieces of property. Oh wait, one was converted into a dog park... yee haw. This district, that was once great and a respected model for other districts, seems to have been mismanaged via improper priorities, ignorance to the general consensus, and protecting the salaries of the district faculty. I have heard that old story so many times - good pay attracts good teachers. Well, then why is this district in the 90th percentile in pay (including 4th in superintendent pay) BUT only 70th percentile in MEAP, IOWA, and other standardized testing!? Priorities seem to be lacking on the school board, and the voices of the people appear to be ignored. I don't subscribe to the rhetoric of "I was elected so I speak for the people". NO, you speak for those that voted for you, as well as the majority of the minority that voted.
Sue Burstein August 02, 2013 at 06:58 PM
And lest we forget that our students onLy get one trimester of American Government in 9th grade but are inundated to become global group think socialists to better redistribute the wealth. Plus, according to the districts own document, ""Facility condition may have a stronger effect on student performance than the combined influences of family background, socio-economic status, school attendance and behavior." Yeppers, parents and family are meaningless in their hitleresque view. Just give them the kids and nice buildings will teach them. BTW gentlemen, be careful. If you oppose the bond, you just might be doing it because of your " racist ideas". Just ask an FPS teacher.
Jennifer Hassell August 03, 2013 at 12:29 PM
Hitleresque? Seriously? I'm all for people voting however they feel on this or any issue. Passionate people advocating for what they feel is best is how things move forward. Can't this be done without being hurtful and insensitive? Dragging out references to genocidal dictators to make a point about the importance (or unimportance) of facility upgrades is thoughtless and seriously undercuts the validity of your point.
Cathy Leads August 04, 2013 at 09:29 AM
I think before we even consider giving this district any more money we need to ask what became of the last bond we agreed to. All those building improvements we paid for. The LGI rooms, cafetoriums, air conditioning etc. 4 of those improved buildings and our tax dollars are in a land fill somewhere. No attempt was made to sell those building so we could recoup some of the money. They were just bulldozed. Were they afraid a charter or private school would have made an offer to purchase one of those beautifully updated facilities? I guess it was better they ended up in a landfill somewhere. Also, please explain why the Maxfield Training Center and Flanders property are not up for sale? The utter disregard (contempt?) this school board has for the taxpayers is mind boggling.
Sue Burstein August 04, 2013 at 09:57 AM
YAY Cathy!!! You are spot on. And let me add...according to people in the cities this district refuses to even return phone calls about what they are doing with the properties. They are not good working partners to our cities. And to all you dog park fans...TATA...it will soon be gone. You will get the short end of the FPS stick.
Sue Burstein August 04, 2013 at 10:09 AM
My refernece to hitleresque refers to the hitler youth and comments by said genocidal dictator who told the masses that, "He alone, who owns the youth, gains the future." So just pay attention to what this district tells you. When they quote that buildings are more important than FAMILY they are spewing this kind of insane rhetoric. On the other hand, hitler also said, "Universal education is the most corroding and disintegrating poison that liberalism has ever invented for its own destruction." Parents in this district allow the Board and admin to make unfettered decisions without much comment. We now have teachers who use resources like Oxfam for their 5 th and 6th graders. A foriegn organization that loathes the U.S. and it's whole mission is to promote the total redistribution of wealth We no longer teach American Government in 12 th grade, they believe a single trimester is sufficient for our kids to be staunch Americans. So, I do not think, it undercuts the validity of my point. It is EXACTLY my point. Stop giving our children away to these people without understanding what the outcome will be. BUILDINGS DO NOT HAVE MORE INFLUENCE ON CHILDRENS' EDUCATIONAL SUCCESS THAN FAMILY. FAMILY IS THE SINGLE MOST IMPORTANT FACTOR....but if you buy the district theory otherwise (and they not only said it, they bolded it in their last publication) then I guess we will get the Steppford kids we have earned.
Sue Burstein August 04, 2013 at 10:38 AM
I suppose my using the term "hitleresque" as it refers to tactics of the board and administration is more objectionable to some than a district teacher referring to parents and district citizens who oppose the bond as bing "racist" which is no different than having "racist ideas" since your ideas form your opinions. Tell you what, I will take the word "hitleresque" as a descriptive for the tactics employed by elected officials and their cohorts, than calling anyone a RACIST, any day of the week. Yet, Jennifer Hassell, where is your condemnation of that vile and divisive word anywhere? Yep, you must have missed that one. Is calling an entire group of voters RACIST, "Passionate people advocating for what they feel is best is how things move forward."? I certainly hope not.
Kenneth Garner August 04, 2013 at 12:04 PM
I suppose that, in accordance with Godwin's Law, it was inevitable that Hitler and the Nazis would eventually come up in the debate about the bond. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Godwin%27s_Law) However, I find it odd that, on the one hand, SBK claims that the FPS board is, on the one hand, out to create Hitler Youth, somehow, through global studies; yet on the other, she seemingly quotes Hitler approvingly about the "corroding and disintegrating" character of liberal education. (By the way, "liberal" in this sense meant the 19th century liberalism of Great Britain whose economic and social philosophies correspond more closely to today's libertarianism than contemporary American liberalism). So a few questions: 1. Why do you think its more acceptable for you to call the board Hitleresque than for Tera (my wife) to say that your opposition to the board is based on "racist ideas?" I'm intrigued by the moral distinction that you see here. 2. Are you aware that, by invoking Hitler and the Nazis in a non-genocidal context, you automatically reveal the shallowness of your own argument? 3. Were you for Hitler's educational policies before you were against them, or vice versa? Considering that you think Hitler's view on liberal education were valid, I wasn't sure.
FHVoice August 06, 2013 at 02:00 AM
Let's put this to rest: Sue Burstein-Kahn, ex-officio member of the school board, has a comprehension and rational thinking process problem. The statement "Facility condition may have a stronger effect on student performance than the combined influences of family background, socio-economic status, school attendance and behavior." does NOT mean that, as SBK asserts, "parents and family are meaningless". (I'm not sure if that is a case of Bifurcation or Non Sequitur) Assessing factors that impact education is not a zero sum game; of course parents and family are important, and no one is suggesting they aren't, and I don't believe SBK really thinks that. That kind of hyperbole is used to create fear. Hitleresque? No. Vlad the Impaler? Well, ah, no. How about Limbaughesque? Actually, perhaps this support of a losing effort is the source of one's angst: https://www.facebook.com/JewishTeaPartyUSA/posts/287815191335701 ... and I never knew there was a self-styled Jewish Tea Party, much less one that had to distinguish itself as the one in the USA. Vote. Support the bond. Have a great day.
Jim Sparks August 06, 2013 at 10:30 AM
Typical of SBK and her ilk... decry "name-calling", while engaging in it herself. Valid criticism of elected officials is one thing - incessant accusation and juvenile bleating is counterproductive and tiring. Normally, I'd say give 'em the job, and let's see how well they handle it, but, alas, one of them actually DID get the job, and his tenure up until now has been largely inattentive and ineffectual, other than to give his wife a platform for strident and vitriolic spew. Well, I guess as they say, give 'em enough rope....
Sharon August 06, 2013 at 12:57 PM
The anti-Semitism that appears to be running rampant through this online publication and this district is nauseating. Dr. Kahn has been nothing but a patient, informed gentleman serving on our school board. Throwing the “racist” card out served one purpose, to steer the conversation away from the exorbitant amount of money that is up for grabs today. It seems to have been effective. I find it very interesting that no one from the “Yes” side of the conversation has directly addressed the issue of the bond being over a total of 32 years not the “25 years” that is being portrayed. That’s a big heap of extra cash that’s up for grabs without enough oversight and details.
Sue Burstein August 06, 2013 at 01:11 PM
Thank you Sharon. Probably just Jew on Jew - Jew baiting. Liberal Jews tend to eat their own. Jim, as for my husband, if you knew anything, and apparently you don't, I have used my "platform" to air my opinion at board meetings for over a decade. It's my 1st amendment right. Oh, but I forgot, liberals don't believe in the Constitution for others, only for themselves, as evidenced by your inane comments. It's so easy to call out someone for their performance in a task when you've never even been to a board meeting. I guess that mirror of yours must have fogged up from your hot air.
FHVoice August 06, 2013 at 04:20 PM
No. Revealing Sue Burstein-Kahn as a proud member of the Jewish Tea Party (USA) merely gives context to some of her vitriol. And for as proud a gadfly she claims to be, one wonders why her posting name is different than her LinkedIn and company profile bane of Burstein-Kahn.
Joni Hubred-Golden (Editor) August 06, 2013 at 06:17 PM
Everyone, Patch encourages a lively dialogue, but please refrain from personal attacks and stick to a discussion of the issues. Please remember our three main principles: “Keep it clean,” “Don’t try to trick people,” and “Treat others as you’d like to be treated.” (Especially that last one.)
Sue Burstein August 06, 2013 at 06:58 PM
I wonder if this FPS parent is voting no because of his racist ideas. About minute 2 from today. http://www.clickondetroit.com/news/politics/millages-candidates-bring-out-suburban-detroit-voters/-/1719386/21358318/-/axvmq0/-/index.html
Sharon August 06, 2013 at 07:46 PM
One wonders why FHVoice doesn't use a name at all?
FHVoice August 06, 2013 at 09:15 PM
Sharon, careful. One of SBK's favorite phrases is "no name no brain". Wonder what that means. BTW, FHVoice is a "nom de plume". I'm sure you know what that means, unless you are like GW Bush, who said "The problem with the French is that they have no word for entrepreneur".
Sharon August 06, 2013 at 10:10 PM
I believe a better explanation would be "nom de guerre". Evidentially you are not the voice of Farmington Hills.
Sue Burstein August 07, 2013 at 12:00 AM
Sharon, good one. FH...haha
Sue Burstein August 07, 2013 at 12:07 AM
FH. Get over BDS. It's been over 5 years already. Stop living in the past. There's a whole new idiot in the White House who is so much easier to disparage. Way, way, way more fun.
FHVoice August 07, 2013 at 02:00 AM
SDK, I just recalled what George said. I didn't call him an idiot. You did.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something