Snyder Approves Redistricting Plan that Splits Farmington, Hills

While the maps have been approved, they could still be challenged in court.

On Tuesday, Gov. Rick Snyder signed legislation redrawing legislative boundaries for state House, Senate and Congressional districts, leaving Farmington and Farmington Hills with major changes in representation.

Under the new plans, Congressman Gary Peters (D-Bloomfield Hills) will no longer serve either community. Instead, Farmington will be in the 11th Congressional District represented by Republican Thaddeus McCotter, and Farmington Hills falls into the 14th District, currently represented by Democrat John Conyers.

Despite his district being split, Peters said Wednesday he is still running for re-election.

“Even if these gerrymandered maps are allowed to stand, I am running for reelection to Congress because we need representatives who are focused on Michigan's future rather than being locked into the past," he said in a statement.

Peters said these maps are not immune to legal challenges.

"Throughout this process, I have been working with the delegation to fight the proposed maps, and I will continue supporting any legal challenge as it goes forward," he said.

Reapportionment occurs every 10 years following the release of U.S. Census data. It is a mandate to keep districts equal in population. The state has until Nov. 1 to finalize the district maps.

In the state House

Before: Farmington and Farmington Hills are in the 37th District, represented by Democrat Vicki Barnett. 

Now: Both communities remain in the 37th District, boundaries would remain unchanged.

In the state Senate

Before: Farmington and Farmington Hills are both in the 14th District, represented by Democrat Vincent Gregory. The district includes Southfield and Southfield Twp., Royal Oak Twp., Lathrup Village, Huntington Woods, Oak Park, Ferndale, Pleasant Ridge and Hazel Park.

Now: Both cities are now in the 11th Senate District, along with Southfield (city), Lathrup, Oak Park, Huntington Woods, Royal Oak Twp., Pleasant Ridge, Ferndale, Hazel Park and Madison Heights. The present Michigan 11th Senate District encompasses most of the northern half of Macomb County.


Before: Farmington and Farmington Hills were formerly part of the 9th District, led by Peters, a Democrat from Bloomfield Hills.

Now: Oakland County is now broken into four congressional districts (8, 9, 11 and 14); Farmington is now part the newly redrawn 11th district, represented by Livonia resident McCotter, and Farmington Hills is in the newly drawn 14th district, represented by Democrat Conyers.

  • District 11 almost encircles the southern half of the county and include everything from parts of Clawson and Troy to Bloomfield Hills and Birmingham west to Milford and south to Canton.
  • District 14 includes Farmington Hills (but not Farmington which would be in District 11) as well as West Bloomfield, Pontiac, Southfield and parts of Wayne County.
  • District 8 includes Rochester and Rochester Hills and the rest of the northern half of the county, from Oakland and Addison townships west to Holly and Rome townships.
  • District 9 includes Royal Oak, Ferndale, Berkley, Huntington Woods, and Bloomfield Township.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »